Plus-size, Pink, perfect skin.

When I was growing up, the short time I had with my Barbies, they were call girls for my baby brother’s GI Joes, damsels getting saved from a barricaded or pretend-burning doll house, even double agent prostitutes (this is what happens when no one watches what you’re watching when you’re five.) Either that, they serve as playmates during visits to my stepsisters’.

Back then, there are no colored Barbies. All of them are white, majority sold are blonde with blue eyes. Being dark-haired, brown eyed Asian, never have I the slightest wished to look like Barbie. Nor did I envy her unrealistic proportioned bod. And I have not come across anyone that did, even when they kept their childhood dolls longer than me. Not my sisters, not my friends, not my nieces. So why do everyone keep putting the blame on Barbie? Or is it a white culture thing?
In my observation, there’s one thing that’s always influence my nieces in thinking their too fat or the need to wear heels, over shoulders and mid-riffs at 5-6 are TV shows, and people surrounding them which sometimes we have no control. They wanted to be like the older adolescent nieces who bypassed training bras for padded black ones, or oneesans that they see on the street they think are kire and want to dress like them.
Why no one says anything about the body proportion of monster high dolls? My nieces are crazy about them too. And they are dead skinnier.
Just like People who always exclaimed in disgust they hate the color pink. Why? It’s not my favorite color, but I never try to make people who like them feel bad about themselves. When I was in college, there’s this lecturer, he often wore pink shirts. Sure enough, you can hear snorts and giggles, labeling him gay, emasculating him just because he wear pink shirts.
Is this the modern society we’re so proud to be in? We don’t like our predecessors enforcing the idea that pinks are for girls and blues are for boys, we’d like to think that we are far superior and intelligent to let color be gender-determined, but we should be able to accept that our daughters or sons like the color pink without feeling discriminated or it’s a color that they should or shouldn’t like because it’s gender appropriated.
What does the color pink have to do with issue before hand, the need for plus-sized Barbie dolls? Products existed to fill the needs of consumers. You can’t be serious trying to pressure companies into creating something that may have no market, high risk and potential loss? For educational purposes? Why not have someone in Barbie’s circle of friends have cancer, fatal disease, have AIDs or is homosexual, in additional of having obese character?
Soon they would say something about the dolls being unrealisticly smooth, and should be made mimicking the imperfection of real skin, with moles and stretchmarks.
Read the news here: Plus Size Barbie Causes Controversy

Leave a Reply

